February 23, 2016

DSS Award Recipients Honored

Several members of the Department of Safety & Security were honored at the annual DSS Awards and Recognition ceremony recently held at the University’s Ida Noyes Hall. The annual awards ceremony recognizes members of the department for their work during the previous calendar year.

This year’s winners include: Sergeant Janelle Marcellis, head of the UCPD’s Community Relations Unit, received the Officer of the Year: The Stephen Mitchell Award; Paul DeLuca, director of the Office of Emergency Management, and UCPD Officer Everett Croom both received the Distinguished Service Award; Candace Walters, risk management analyst, received the Civilian of the Year Award; Jill Singleton, Environmental Health and Safety’s business administrator, received the Keep Calm Carry On award; Officer Randy Carter was given the Chief’s Choice award; and the Community Service Award was given to the UCPD’s Community Relations Unit, consisting of Sergeant Marcellis and officers Tawrence Walton, Mario Tello, Danielle Rios, Victor Vazquez, Randall Shannon, and Jerone Thadison.

The department’s Letter of Commendation recipients include:
• Officer Victor Vazquez 
• Officer Jaime Arreola
• Rosalind Jenkins

Honorable mention recipients include:
• Investigator Brian Giddings
• Investigator Joseph Bowers
• Detective Carlton Hughes
• Officer Joseph Augustyn
• Officer Alexander Donner
• Officer Everett Croom
• Officer Jerome Smith
• Officer Salvatore Cappelluti
• Officer Antonio De La Cruz
• Officer Ricardo Vasquez
• Officer Katrina Joseph
• Officer Sean Rogers
• Officer Christopher Williams
• Officer Jerone Thadison
• Sergeant Eric Grays
• Officer Felicia Lee
• Officer Eric Wiley
• Officer Angel Martinez